Resources (Flows, Notebooks, Explores, Segments, Dashboard) can be shared with users or groups. Now the owner can share their resources with a particular user or a group.
While sharing, the owner can also decide what kind of permission (View, Edit, Edit Settings, Manage) should be given to the user on that resource. With VIEW permission, the users or groups can only view the resource. With EDIT permission, they will be able to edit the resource.
With EDIT_SETTINGS permission, they will be able edit resource settings as well. With MANAGE permission, the users or groups can even delete the resource.
Resource owner or User with MANAGE permission can revoke any permission shared, anytime.
On sharing a resource with only view permission to a group or an user where they already have edit permissions for their role can not only view but also edit the resource. For example, an Analyst role has view and edit permissions on explores. However, sharing the explore with the analyst only with the view permission still gives both view and edit options.
On clicking the settings icon, the owner can opt in or opt out to allow editors to change permissions and share further. If opted in, other users can share the resources with more users or groups , with permission lower than or the same permission that is shared with them. For example A resource is shared with EDIT permission to user U1, U1 can further share the resource with another user U2, with VIEW or EDIT permission.